Value Stream Mapping Webinar
 
Join Elsa Mersereau for a fun and informative introduction to the core Lean method:  Value Stream Mapping.
 
Value Stream Mapping Webinar
75 minutes total time
Tuesday, March 30, 2010  -  Noon ET   (9:00am PT, 10:00am MT, 11:00am CT)
 
A Value Stream Map (VSM) allows you to see, through direct observation, all the steps in the request and delivery of a specific product or service. The Current State VSM documents time and motion, and unlike a flow chart, exposes when nothing is happening to move the process along.  This enables you to recognize opportunities to reduce waste and delays and to standardize processes that support workers in doing their good work. This information segues to the development of a Future State VSM, which is a visual layout of the improved layout of work.
 
Value stream mapping is a refreshing and objective approach to reducing waste and confusion, involving the people doing the work. This is a view of a work process from 10,000 feet.
 
In this webinar Elsa will discuss the following:
Overview Toyota Production System (TPS) and Lean for healthcare
Value Stream Mapping basics
Current state map of a work process
Future state map of a work process 
 
You will learn how to use Value Steam Maps for understanding work processes, improving those processes, planning new processes, and communicating your new understanding to others.

There will be an interactive Q/A break midway and at the end of the webinar.