Susan Murphey



Webinars on Lean and Work Safety
 Join Susan Murphey, healthcare work safety specialist, for a fun and informative introduction to applying lean concepts to work safety in healthcare.  What greater waste is there than losing skilled staff to preventable work-related injuries?!

Session I:  Blending Lean Healthcare and Work Safety (Introductory)
75 minutes total time--content repeated on three separate dates for your convenience
Thursday, 2/12-9:00 am PST (10:00 am MST/11:00 am CST/12:00 pm EST)
Thursday 2/26-9:00 am  PST (10:00 am MST/11:00 am CST/12:00 pm EST)
Thursday, 3/12-9:00 am  PST (10:00 am MST/11:00 am CST/12:00 pm EST)

Did you realize that Healthcare industry workers sustain 4.5 times more overexertion injuries than any other type of worker?  Injured employees can have significant wasteful effects on department operations whether through time-loss, Worker’s Compensation costs, decreased productivity, or staff morale and retention.  Costs of workers’ compensation alone range from $15 to $20 billion annually, and total expenses are estimated at close to $60 billion. Avoiding injuries in the first place or getting the injured employee back to work as quickly as possible is critical in eliminating waste, providing the best in patient care, and maintaining department workflow at optimal capacity. 

Susan will discuss the following:
•    The parallels between Participatory Ergonomics and Lean
•    Direct and indirect costs of work-related injuries in healthcare
•    Tools for identifying areas of risk

 There will be an interactive Q/A breaks at the end of the webinar.
 All participants will receive a discussion document via email.
 Register for the date that best suits your schedule.

Susan Murphey is a Certified Ergonomic Compliance Director and Ergonomics Evaluation Specialist.  Susan has completed extensive Work Injury Prevention and Applied Workplace Ergonomics’ training.   She is founder of Essential Ergonomics, a published author and speaker in ergonomics, work wellness and process management programs.