Sue Sheehy



Webinars on Creating a Lean Five-Star Emergency Department
Join Susan Sheehy, nationally and internationally known expert in emergency care, for a fun and informative introduction to applying lean concepts to create a five-star emergency department.

Creating a Lean Five-Star Emergency Department, Part I
75 minutes total time--content repeated on three separate dates for your convenience
Tuesday, 2/11  -  Noon EST   (9:00amPST,10:00am MST)
Tuesday,  3/17  - Noon EST   (9:00am PST, 10:00amMST)
Tuesday, 3/24 – Noon EST  (9:00am PST, 10:00am MST)

With all of the issues facing Emergency Departments, such as higher acuity patients, longer lengths of stay, boarding admitted patients, lack of primary care resources, increasing uninsured and underinsured patients, the nursing shortage, and demand for more rapid, protocol-driven care, we must be relentless at eliminating waste while improving the quality of care we deliver. This task is not an easy one, and will require a singular focus on lean for all aspects of the Emergency Department.
 
In this webinar Susan will discuss the following: Part One will be an overview of Lean and its applicability to the Emergency Department in light of the many challenges presented on a daily basis. We will begin to identify a plan to get started, including the scope of your Lean transformation, how to develop your project team, and conducting an Emergency Department Status Survey, which will be the driving template for an ED Lean transformation.

The significance of the Emergency Department Status Survey will be reviewed and there will be discussion on how to design and complete a status survey, how to interpret the results, and how to prioritize projects using a two-step process – a department-wide modified Delphi technique and application of the Weighted Project Priority Grid.

    ************************************************************
 
In each webinar, there will be an interactive Q/A break midway and at the end of the webinar.

All participants will receive a discussion document via email.
Your registration allows you to participate in either time offering of one of the webinars or both time offerings of one webinar if you choose. You must register for Part 1 and Part 2  webinars separately.

Susan Sheehy, PhD©, RN, FAAN, FAEN, is a nationally and internationally known emergency nurse. Her experience includes work as a staff nurse, head nurse, clinical nurse specialist, department and division director in emergency, trauma, and flight nursing both in the military and civilian sectors. She is the author/editor of three emergency nursing/trauma textbooks (12 editions) and over 80 journal articles and she is a widely sought-after speaker for conferences around the globe.  Susan is currently the Director of Education Programs for Lean Healthcare West.