Sue Sheehy



Webinars on Creating a Lean Five-Star Emergency Department Join Susan Sheehy, nationally and internationally known expert in emergency care, for a fun and informative introduction to applying lean concepts to create a five-star emergency department.

Creating a Lean Five Star Emergency Department, Part II
75 minutes total time--content repeated twice daily and two separate dates for your convenience
Tuesday, 4/7 -  Noon EST   (9:00am PST, 10:00am MST)
Tuesday, 4/14 -  Noon EST   (9:00am PST, 10:00am MST)

In  Part 2 of this webinar series, Susan will discuss the following:
Using data gathered from the Emergency Department Status Survey, examples will be presented where Value Stream Mapping opportunities were identified. From the Value Stream Maps, A3 Problem Solving opportunities will be discussed, using examples from actual Emergency Departments.

   In addition, the following topics will be explored:
    Using spaghetti mapping for staffing assignments and department redesign
    Staffing by Geographic Zones
    Conducting a Room Utilization Study
    Standardizing Exam/Treatment Rooms
    Key components of a true Fast Track
    Preparing for an ED Move (down the hall or to a new building)
 
    ************************************************************
 
In each webinar, there will be an interactive Q/A break midway and at the end of the webinar.

All participants will receive a discussion document via email.
Your registration allows you to participate in either time offering of one of the webinars or both time offerings of one webinar if you choose. You must register for Part 1 and Part 2  webinars separately.

Susan Sheehy, PhD©, RN, FAAN, FAEN, is a nationally and internationally known emergency nurse. Her experience includes work as a staff nurse, head nurse, clinical nurse specialist, department and division director in emergency, trauma, and flight nursing both in the military and civilian sectors. She is the author/editor of three emergency nursing/trauma textbooks (12 editions) and over 80 journal articles and she is a widely sought-after speaker for conferences around the globe.  Susan is currently the Director of Education Programs for Lean Healthcare West.