Webinar on Creating a Lean Five-Star Emergency Department
Join Susan Sheehy, nationally and internationally known expert in emergency care, for a fun and informative introduction to applying lean concepts to create a five-star emergency department.

Creating a Lean Five-Star Emergency Department
75 minutes total time
Wednesday, October 28, 2009  -  Noon ET   (9:00am PT, 10:00am MT, 11:00am CT)

With all of the issues facing Emergency Departments, such as higher acuity patients, longer lengths of stay, boarding admitted patients, lack of primary care resources, increasing uninsured and underinsured patients, the nursing shortage, and demand for more rapid, protocol-driven care, we must be relentless at eliminating waste while improving the quality of care we deliver. This task is not an easy one, and will require a singular focus on lean for all aspects of the Emergency Department.
 
In this webinar Susan will discuss the following:
Using data gathered from the Emergency Department Status Survey, examples will be presented where Value Stream Mapping opportunities were identified. From the Value Stream Maps, A3 Problem Solving opportunities will be discussed, using examples from actual Emergency Departments.

   In addition, the following topics will be explored:
    Using spaghetti mapping for staffing assignments and department redesign
    Staffing by Geographic Zones
    Conducting a Room Utilization Study
    Standardizing Exam/Treatment Rooms
  

There will be an interactive Q/A break midway and at the end of the webinar.

All participants will receive a discussion document via email.